Jimmie Johnson makes All-Star Race history

Sprint Cup Series driver Jimmie Johnson celebrates after winning the Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.
  • 22 drivers make up the field for the All-Star Race.
  • Kurt and Kyle Busch each won two%2C 20-lap segments.
  • Danica Patrick became first woman to compete in event%2C finished 20th.
  • CONCORD, N.C. — Jimmie Johnson became NASCAR’s greatest all-star Saturday night, becoming the first four-time winner of the Sprint All-Star Race.

    Johnson led the final 10 laps after a restart to begin the final 10-lap shootout and cruised to victory in the exhibition event at Charlotte Motor Speedway for the second consecutive season.

    The five-time series champion’s No. 48 Chevrolet finished 1.722 seconds ahead of Joey Logano. Kyle Busch finished third, followed by Kasey Kahne and Kurt Busch.

    The Busch brothers each had won two of the first four 20-lap segments, and Kurt Busch and Kyle Busch entered the pits for a mandatory four-tire stop before the final sprint.

    But Kurt Busch exited the pits in fifth and Kyle Busch in third as Kahne and Johnson capitalized on swift stops to take the top two spots for the final restart.

    “We’re just a very focused, driven group of guys,” Johnson said. “We’re doing great things, but we’re amazing ourselves in the process.”.

    With the triumph, Johnson broke a tie with Dale Earnhardt and Jeff Gordon for most All-Star Race victories. He also earned a $1 million payout.

    Denny Hamlin, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jamie McMurray (who won the Sprint Showdown to gain entry), Matt Kenseth and Carl Edwards rounded out the top 10.

    Explore more:  Days before campaign rally, police union sells 'Cops for Trump' shirts in Minneapolis

    Danica Patrick, who won the fan vote and made her All-Star Race debut, took 20th.

    Boyfriend Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Also in his first Showdown after punching his ticket with a runner-up finish in the Showdown, was 16th.

    Fourth segment (20 laps): Kurt Busch won his second segment and clinched the top spot entering the pits for a mandatory four-tire stop before a final 10-lap stint. Busch passed Kasey Kahne for the lead a lap after a restart and led the final nine laps of the segment.

    Kahne was second, followed by Jimmie Johnson and Kyle Busch, who tied his older brother in average finish but lost on the tiebreaker (best finish in the fourth segment). Matt Kenseth was fifth. Kevin Harvick, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Joey Logano, Carl Edwards and Clint Bowyer rounded out the top 10.

    The segment got off to a wild start as varying strategies left several cars with four fresh tires behind those with two. Kahne, who took the lead on a two-tire stop, zoomed away from the field while several drivers banged into each other behind him, including Kyle Busch taking a shot from Ryan Newman.

    Third segment (20 laps): Kyle Busch won his second consecutive segment, capitalizing on fresher tires to breeze by Clint Bowyer and lead the final 17 laps. Kurt Busch finished second, followed by Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr. And Joey Logano. Kasey Kahne, Denny Hamlin, Jamie McMurray, Kevin Harvick and Jeff Gordon rounded out the top 10.

    Bowyer led the first three laps of the segment after electing not to pit after the second stint. The strategy backfired for Bowyer (12th) and Carl Edwards (15th), who also didn’t stop and faded badly.

    Gordon, Hamlin and Matt Kenseth each radioed their teams about struggling with sluggish motors during the segment.

    Explore more:  Reliever Romo close to finalizing deal with Dodgers

    Second segment (20 laps): Kyle Busch took first from Clint Bowyer on a Lap 29 restart and led the final 12 laps of the stint. Bowyer finished second, followed by Carl Edwards and Kurt Busch and Jimmie Johnson. The split of the first two segments by the Busch brothers ensured there would be no extra $1 million bonus paid by track owner O. Bruton Smith for a driver who won all five segments.

    Kasey Kahne, Joey Logano, Jamie McMurray, Denny Hamlin and Dale Earnhardt Jr. Rounded out the top 10.

    Bowyer seized the lead from Kurt Busch on the first lap of the segment, swinging his No. 15 Toyota low for a three-wide maneuver as Kyle Busch attempted to pass his older brother in the high line.

    Mark Martin brought out the race’s second caution on Lap 25 when his No. 55 Toyota slid through the frontstretch grass after contact with Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Whose No. 17 Ford bounced off the Turn 4 wall. All but Brad Keselowski’s car were running at the finish of the first 40 laps, though with fan vote winner Danica Patrick in last (21st) but on the lead lap.

    First segment (20 laps): Kurt Busch took the lead from pole-sitter Carl Edwards and led from start to finish. Kyle Busch finished second, followed by Clint Bowyer, Edwards and Kasey Kahne. Greg Biffle, Jeff Gordon, Denny Hamlin, Joey Logano and Dale Earnhardt Jr. Rounded out the top 10.

    The segment was red-flagged on the 12th lap for 41 minutes because of rain.

    Defending series champion Brad Keselowski was eliminated from contention when his No. 2 Ford suffered a mechanical failure that sent him to the garage for the night.

    Explore more:  Mother of 2 children missing since September appears in court; bail set at $5 million

    Follow Nate Ryan on Twitter @nateryan.


    (Start position in parentheses).

    1. (18) Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 90 laps, 117.2 rating, 0 points.

    2. (5) Joey Logano, Ford, 90, 101, 0.

    3. (4) Kyle Busch, Toyota, 90, 135.2, 0.

    4. (9) Kasey Kahne, Chevrolet, 90, 109.3, 0.

    5. (2) Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 90, 122.3, 0.

    6. (7) Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 90, 85.3, 0.

    7. (15) Dale Earnhardt Jr., Chevrolet, 90, 81.6, 0.

    8. (20) Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 90, 73.6, 0.

    9. (16) Matt Kenseth, Toyota, 90, 65.2, 0.

    10. (1) Carl Edwards, Ford, 90, 76.8, 0.

    11. (19) Kevin Harvick, Chevrolet, 90, 61.9, 0.

    12. (10) Jeff Gordon, Chevrolet, 90, 62.4, 0.

    13. (11) Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 90, 53, 0.

    14. (13) Tony Stewart, Chevrolet, 90, 48.2, 0.

    15. (3) Greg Biffle, Ford, 90, 62, 0.

    16. (21) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 90, 44.1, 0.

    17. (17) Marcos Ambrose, Ford, 90, 36.7, 0.

    18. (6) Clint Bowyer, Toyota, 90, 71.7, 0.

    19. (14) David Ragan, Ford, 90, 31.4, 0.

    20. (22) Danica Patrick, Chevrolet, 90, 28.2, 0.

    21. (8) Mark Martin, Toyota, accident, 87, 33.5, 0.

    22. (12) Brad Keselowski, Ford, transmission, 2, 26.8, 0.

    Race Statistics.

    Average Speed of Race Winner: 90.672 mph.

    Time of Race: 1 hour, 29 minutes, 20 seconds.

    Margin of Victory: 1.722 seconds.

    Caution Flags: 7 for 27 laps.

    Lead Changes: 8 among 5 drivers.

    Lap Leaders: Ku.Busch 1-20; C.Bowyer 21-28; Ky.Busch 29-40; C.Bowyer 41-43; Ky.Busch 44-60; K.Kahne 61-71; Ku.Busch 72-80; J.Johnson 81-90.

    Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Led, Laps Led): Ky.Busch, 2 times for 29 laps; Ku.Busch, 2 times for 29 laps; K.Kahne, 1 time for 11 laps; C.Bowyer, 2 times for 11 laps; J.Johnson, 1 time for 10 laps.

    Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Rits Blog by Crimson Themes.